Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2022: Manu Ginobili and Tim Hardaway among inductees to be enshrined on Saturday


The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2022 will be enshrined Saturday night at 7 p.m. ET in Springfield, Massachusetts. Among the 13 Hall of Fame inductees are a number of former players and coaches who led illustrious careers to earn this honor.

Here is the list of the 13 inductees who will be inducted this year:

Manu Ginobili

Ginobili, of course, spent his entire career with the San Antonio Spurs and won four titles alongside Tim Duncan and Tony Parker. A two-time All-Star, two-time All-NBA and one of the best sixth men in NBA history, Ginobili was a league-wide fan favorite thanks to his flair and creativity.

Tim Hardaway

Hardaway, the father of Dallas Mavericks guard Tim Hardaway Jr., was one of the best guards of the 1990s. During that decade, he appeared in five All-Star Games and five All-NBA Teams, including a first team appearance in 1997. He also helped Team USA win a gold medal at the 2000 Olympics in Sydney, Australia.

Earn money

Cash, who last summer was named to the WNBA’s 25th Anniversary Team, has played at the college, professional and international levels. She is a two-time NCAA champion, three-time WNBA champion and two-time Olympic gold medalist. She also made four WNBA All-Star Games and two All-WNBA Teams.

Lindsay Whalen

Whalen, like Cash, was also named to the WNBA’s 25th Anniversary Team. She is a four-time WNBA champion, two-time Olympic gold medalist and is the all-time leading passer in the WNBA playoffs. Whalen was also a five-time All-Star and was named to five All-WNBA Teams.

George Karl

Karl spent five seasons with the San Antonio Spurs in the ABA and NBA, but is best known for his prolific coaching career. He’s head coached six different teams and only missed the playoffs five times in 27 seasons. NBA Coach of the Year in 2013, he led the Seattle SuperSonics to the 1996 NBA Finals and is sixth on the all-time coaching wins list with 1,175.

Bob Huggin

Huggins has been coaching at the collegiate level since 1977 and is still in charge of West Virginia. He made his mark in Cincinnati, leading the program to the Final Four in 1992 for the first time in nearly 30 years. When he took over in West Virginia, he quickly took them to the Final Four in 2010 for the first time in over 50 years. He is the sixth-winningest NCAA Division I coach of all time with 900 career wins.

Marianne Stanley

Stanley’s coaching career spanned both the collegiate ranks and the WNBA. She began her head coaching career at Old Dominion in 1977 and elevated the program to a national power during her tenure. Stanley led Old Dominion to a national championship in 1985 and went to the Final Four three times – twice with Old Dominion and once with Stanford. She also coached with Penn, USC and California before turning pro, where she won WNBA Coach of the Year honors in 2002 with the Washington Mystics.

Hugh Evans

Evans spent 28 seasons as a referee in the NBA, where he officiated more than 2,000 games, from regular season games to the NBA Finals, which featured an array of Hall of Fame players from Jerry West and Michael Jordan, to Kobe Bryant and Allen Iverson. When Evans is enshrined on Saturday night, he will become the Hall of Fame’s first black umpire and only the NBA’s seventh umpire.

Lou Hudson

Hudson played 13 years in the NBA, where he was a six-time All-Star and had career averages of 20.2 points, 4.4 rebounds and 2.7 assists. Prior to that, Hudson stood out at the University of Minnesota where he averaged 20.4 points and nine rebounds over three seasons before being drafted fourth overall by the St. Louis Hawks in 1966. Hudson played his first two seasons in St. Louis before the team. moved to Atlanta and spent his final two years with the Los Angeles Lakers alongside Kareem Abdul-Jabbar.

larry costello

Costello is in rare company as one of 14 people who have won an NBA championship as both a player and a coach. He won as a player while competing for the Philadelphia 76ers in 1967, then won as head coach of the Milwaukee Bucks in 1971, where he coached Abdul-Jabbar and Oscar Robertson. Costello compiled a 430-300 record in 10 seasons of coaching in the league and made the Finals again with the Bucks in 1974.

Del Harris

Harris has been a head coach at the high school, college, NBA and international level. At the collegiate level, he captained Earlham College for nine seasons, compiling a 175-70 record. When he made the jump to the ABA/NBA, first as an assistant in 1975, he continued to rise through the coaching ranks to the point where he won Coach of the Year honors in 1995 with the Los Angeles Lakers. He has also spent time coaching overseas, including as head coach of the China Men’s National Team during the 2004 Olympics. Harris is currently Vice President of the G League Texas Legends.

Therese Shank Grentz

Grentz was a member of the Immaculata women’s basketball team in the ’70s that won three consecutive AIAW National Championships from 1972 to 1974. Technically, Grentz has already been inducted into the Hall once before, while teams Immaculata who won those three consecutive titles were inducted in 2014. Along with her success as a player, Grentz has also had success as a coach at the college level. She compiled a record of 681-362 while coaching Saint Joseph’s, Rutgers, Illinois and Lafayette. Grentz also led Team USA to an Olympic bronze medal at the 1992 Olympics.

Radivoj Korac

Korac was a star for Yugoslavia in the 1960s, helping the national team win a silver medal at the 1968 Olympics. He also led his country to two silver medals at the FIBA ​​World Championships in 1963 and 1967, and won the EuroBasket MVP title in 1961. Korac’s 99-point performance in January 1965 still stands as the record for most points scored in a single EuroLeague game. His 54.8 points per game in the 1964-65 EuroLeague season is also still a record.

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.