Best Achievement at the World Sailing Awards >> Scuttlebutt Sailing News


Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates (October 25, 2022) – Nacra 17’s unstoppable duo of Ruggero Tita and Caterina Banti (ITA) have added more awards to their impressive collection after being named Male and female sailor Rolex World Sailor of the Year 2022respectively, at the World Sailing Awards held as part of the organization’s annual conference.

The pair clinched Tokyo 2020 Olympic gold and went on to dominate the event, winning both the European and World Championships by impressive margins.

Green Boats were also recognized for winning the World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award for pioneering the design and manufacture of natural fiber products and components, demonstrating and establishing sustainable alternatives to conventional composite materials.

Australia SailGP Team was named Team of the Year after winning back-to-back SailGP titles, and the Vortex Pod Racer won boat of the year.

David Tillett received the Beppe Croce Trophy for his many years of service to the sport. The President’s Development Award was presented to the Qingdao Municipal Sports Bureau and was collected by Qu Chun, President of the Qingdao Yachting Association.

World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award
The World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award went to Greenboats for the pioneering design and manufacture of natural fiber products and components that have demonstrated a viable sustainable alternative to conventional composite materials. The FLAX27 Daysailor concept boat has been tested in the harshest marine environments and has the potential to completely change the footprint of sailing.

The 11th Hour of Race Sustainability Award celebrates the effective execution or continued delivery of high-impact, highly replicable sustainability initiatives that work to protect and restore the health of the ocean and are aligned with the agenda 2030 of global sailing sustainability. The award is open to National Federations, Sailing Clubs, Event Organizing Committees, Individual Sailors or any other organization related to sailing.

Greenboats will receive a $10,000 prize from 11th Hour Racing to fund its ongoing sustainability efforts, along with the iconic trophy made from recycled carbon fiber from an America’s Cup boat, infused of organic resin.

Todd McGuire, Managing Director of 11th Hour Racing, congratulated the four finalists for this year’s World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award. “Each nominee represents an important step forward in making sailing more sustainable and you are all an inspiration for change in the sport,” noted McGuire.

“This year’s entries spanned the full spectrum of sailing initiatives, from non-profit organisations, sailing classes and manufacturers, to teams, individuals and events, showing that the sport is full of innovation and that our sport is united to improve the sustainability of boating and restore the health of our ocean.

team of the year
The Australian team remains the only team to have lifted the SailGP Trophy, winning it in Seasons 1 and 2. Skippered by Tom Slingsby, 2021 Rolex World Sailor of the Year, and featuring four SailGP winners America and two-time Australian Women’s Sailor of the Year Nina Curtis, Team Australia are currently leading SailGP Season 3 and could be on course to claim their third consecutive championship.

boat of the year
Boat of the Year was awarded to the Vortex Pod Racer which launched a new era of high performance foiling by making the sport both safe and accessible to a wider audience. Constructed from carbon fiber, the Vortex Pod Racer is lightweight, stable and requires minimal operational effort from the pilot to start and take off.

Beppe Croce Trophy
The Beppe Croce Trophy was awarded to David Tillett in recognition of his contribution to the sport of sailing.

David lived a life on the water. He became an international cadet world champion in 1969 before moving to the administrative side of the sport. He joined Yachting South Australia in the 1970s, later becoming secretary, board member and chairman.

David was a member of the Olympic Jury at Atlanta 1996, Sydney 2000, Athens 2004, Beijing 2008 and London 2012, serving as President of the last three Olympic Games. He was America’s Cup referee from 1992 to 2007, president of the Valencia jury 2010 and president of the San Francisco arbitration panel from 2010-2013, and he is currently president of the Auckland arbitration panel.

He was actively involved with the Volvo Ocean Race Jury, serving for five years from 2007 to 2012, and a member of the World Sailing Council from 1998 to 2017. He was also Chairman of the World Sailing Racing Rules Committee from 2000 to 2012 and currently president. the World Sailing Constitution Committee, of which he has been a member since 2012.

In 2000 David was awarded the Australian Sports Medal for his services to sailing and in 2014 he was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for the same, among his many sporting honours. He was inducted into the South Australian Sports Hall of Fame in 2021.

President’s Development Award
The Qingdao Municipal Sports Bureau received the President’s Development Award in honor of its efforts to develop Qingdao City as a Chinese sailing city.

Qingdao hosted sailing during the Beijing Olympics in 2008, and since then the city has hosted top international events including the Volvo Ocean Race, Clipper Round the World Yacht Race, Extreme Sailing Series and the Sailing World Cup. as the creation of its own national and regional competitions to extend the reach of sailing.

The Qingdao municipal office has also implemented programs to increase participation in sailing, such as the Promoting Sailing in Schools program which has helped more than 37,000 students from 114 schools learn to sail, 10,500 of whom have obtained sailing certificates and more than 200 have become national top-level athletes.

Meanwhile, the Welcome on Board program has so far enabled 530,000 people to experience public sailing and integrate sailing into the city’s way of life.

Qingdao has also established close relationships with the International Olympic Committee, World Sailing, the World Union of Olympic Cities and the International Optimist Dinghy Association, and is widely engaged in international sailing and cultural exchange activities to promote the brand. Sailing City and seek advice on development. sailing in Qingdao.

About the World Sailing Awards
World Sailing launched the World Sailor of the Year Awards in 1994 to recognize individual sailors for their outstanding achievement in the sport. Rolex has been a sponsor of the award since 2001, celebrating more than two decades of excellence and achievement in sailing.

World Sailing and 11th Hour Racing have joined forces in 2018 to celebrate delivering high impact and repeatable sustainability across the maritime industry in line with World Sailing’s 2030 Sustainability Program. The winner will receive a $10,000 prize to fund their ongoing sustainability efforts and the iconic trophy. made from recycled carbon fiber from an America’s Cup boat infused with bio resin.

Source: World Sailing

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.