Canada wins first ATP Cup title – Team Canada


(AP Photo / Steve Christo)

Félix Auger-Aliassime, Denis Shapovalov, Brayden Schnur and Steven Diez are the first to win an ATP Cup title for Canada. They take home the gold hardware after an incredible week of hard tennis in Sydney, Australia.

Despite being swept aside by the Americans in their opener, Auger-Aliassime and Shapovalov managed a comeback for Team Canada, winning their next four games to claim the best international men’s team tennis victory in the world. all the time.

In Sunday’s final against Spain, the Canadians needed just two games and four sets to seal the deal. That’s exactly what they did, winning a 2-0 victory over Spain. In the first match, Shapovalov faced Pablo Carreno Busta, an opponent who has caused him difficulties in the past. Carreno Busta has won four of his last five meetings. This was not the case on Sunday, however. Shapovalov played an exceptional game, winning 6-4, 6-3 over the Spaniard to give Canada a 1-0 lead over Spain. It was Shapovalov’s third singles victory this week and his fifth overall victory.

In the last singles match of the tournament, Auger-Aliassime faced Roberto Bautista Agut. The Canadian dominated his opponent, winning with a score of 7-6 (3), 6-3 to win the ATP Cup for Canada.

“It was a difficult start, but in the end things went well after that first draw that we lost 3-0. We bounced back very well against Great Britain. Then I think from that point on we started to gain more and more confidence. Of course, being so close to being out of the group and then going out, you’re kind of in that survival mode and I think we’ve continued until today. – Auger-Aliassime said after the match.

Earlier on Saturday, Canada beat defending champions Russia 2-1 in the semi-finals in a decisive doubles game 4-6, 7-5, 10-7 to send Canada to its first final of ATP Cup.

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.