Check out the 12 finalists for the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2023


KNOXVILLE, TN (WATER) – The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame has announced the 12 finalists under consideration for the Class of 2023.

The twelve nominees were announced Friday at halftime of the South Carolina women’s basketball game against Maryland.

The eight-member class of 2023 will be selected from these 12 finalists. The inductees will be announced Nov. 27 at halftime of the Phil Knight Invitational Championship game.

The 12 finalists of the Class of 2023 are:

Brian Agler, Coach

  • Most-earning professional women’s basketball coach (308-220) … won four world titles as head coach of the WNBA Los Angeles Sparks (2016) and Seattle Storm (2010) as well as the ABL’s Columbus Quest ( 1998, 1997)
  • College coaching at Northeastern Oklahoma A&M, University of Missouri-Kansas City and Kansas State University…has an overall college coaching record of 248-135
  • Member of the Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame (2014), Wittenberg Hall of Fame (1995), University of Missouri-Kansas City Hall of Fame (2013), and Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College of Fame (2014)

Cathy Boswell, veteran player

  • Member of the gold medalists of the USA team at the 1984 Olympic Games in Los Angeles
  • Two-time Kodak All-American of the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and two-time Wade Trophy finalist
  • Career notable at Illinois State University (1980–83) finishing with 2,005 points and 1,054 rebounds

Donna Lopiano, Donor

  • Executive Director of the Women’s Sports Foundation from 1992 to 2007…member of Fox Sports’ “10 Most Powerful Women in Sports” list
  • Director of women’s athletics at the University of Texas from 1975 to 1992…women’s teams won 18 national championships in six different sports, including the first undefeated NCAA champion (34-0) in women’s basketball in 1985 -86…school hosted the first sold-out NCAA Women’s Final Four in 1987
  • Member of the Texas and Connecticut Women’s Halls of Fame

Lisa Mattingly, Official

  • Officiating for 33 years…officiated 10 NCAA Women’s Final Four championship games (2001-07, 2009, 2011, 2014) and seven semi-finals (1999, 2000, 2010, 2012, 2015, 2016, 2018)
  • Officiated the WNBA League Championship Series from 2000 to 2007 and the WNBA League Finals from 2002 to 2006
  • Recipient of the 2002 Naismith Award as Outstanding Official

Paula L. McGee, Player

  • Joined USC in 1980, averaging 20 points and 9 rebounds per game as a rookie
  • 1982 WBCA All-American, 1983 Kodak All-American,
  • Member of the 1983 and 1984 NCAA championship teams
  • The retired jersey hangs at the Galen Center at the University of Southern California.

Taj McWilliams-Franklin, Player

  • 1993 NAIA National Player of the Year
  • Six-time WNBA All-Star
  • Two-time WNBA champion
  • One of twelve WNBA players to score 5,000 career points and ranks third all-time in career rebounds.

Caroline Peck, Coach

  • Head coach at Purdue University (1997-99), Orlando Miracle (1999-01) and University of Florida (2002-07)
  • Purdue’s 1999 NCAA National Championship is still the only Big Ten team to win a title in the sport
  • Named 1998-99 USBWA Coach of the Year, WBCA Coach of the Year, AP College Basketball Coach of the Year and Naismith College Coach of the Year

Sue Phillips, Coach

  • Won back-to-back gold medals with Team USA (2013, 2014) … added gold as head coach of 2021 U16 U16 Americas Championship Team
  • 27 years as head coach of Archbishop Mitty High School (692-128)…guided teams to 62 titles (22 leagues, 21 CCS, 12 NorCal, 6 states, 1 national)
  • 2018 Naismith Coach of the Year and 2018 WBCA Coach of the Year

Crystal Robinson, Player

  • Six-time WNBA All-Star (2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2011) and voted for the WNBA’s All-Time Top 15 Players list in 2011
  • Played for Colorado State (1995-99), finishing career as the program’s all-time leading scorer (2,740 points)
  • Named ESPNW Woman of the Year 2015

Arabia Roundtree, Player

  • Kilgore Junior College (1992-94) stood out…led KJC to the 1993 NJCAA National Championship…named to the WBCA Junior College All-America Team 1993-94 and was WBCA Junior College National Player of the Year 1993- 94 after averaging 26.2 points per game
  • Two-time All-SEC First Team winner…member of 1995-96 WBCA Division I All-America Team…led University of Georgia to 1995-96 SEC Championship and back-to-back Final Four appearances from the NCAA
  • Named WBCA (NCAA Division I), Naismith, US Basketball Writers Association, UPI, Basketball Times and ESPYs 1995-96 National Player of the Year…only one of two to be honored by the WBCA as National Player of the Year in both Junior College Level and NCAA Division I

Mary “Roonie” Scovel, Coach

  • Head coach at Gulf Coast State College (1996-2012) and again 2014-present…has a record of 622-87 (.877)
  • Teams won 90 consecutive games between the 2000-04 seasons…led teams to six NJCAA national championships (2003, 2008, 2010, 2016, 2017, 2019), 18 conference championships and 13 regional titles
  • Six-time NJCAA National Coach of the Year (2003, 2008, 2010, 2016, 2017, 2019), 2019 Spalding Coach of the Year, and 2018 US Marine Corps/WBCA Coach of the Year

Lindsay Whalen, Player

  • In his four years, Minnesota compiled an 80-43 (.650) record, including 72-23 (.758) in his final three seasons (2002, 2003, 2004)…one of only three sophomores in conference history to win Big Ten Player of the Year honors (2002)
  • Three-time WNBA World Championship Team member (2011, 2013, 2015)… All-WNBA First Team in 2008, 2011, 2013… four-time WNBA All-Star (2006, 2011, 2013, 2014)
  • Two-time Team USA gold medalist in 2012 and 2016 Olympics…member of Team USA FIBA ​​World Champions 2010 and 2014…led Team USA to gold medals at the 2003 FIBA ​​World Championship for Young Women (U21) and the 2002 FIBA ​​World Championship for Young Women (U20) Qualifying Tournament

These highlights are just a few major accomplishments and not the overall contributions these individuals have made to women’s basketball.

The 2023 winners of the For the Love of the Game award and the Trailblazers of the Game award will also be announced on November 27. The induction ceremony is scheduled for April 29, 2023 at the headquarters of the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame in Knoxville. .

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.