GIRLS FOOTBALL: ten players from the region are part of the Olympic all-star team


PORT ANGELES – Ten female soccer players from the northern part of the Olympic Peninsula were honored to be named to the All-Star teams of the Olympic League in a vote led by the league’s coaches.

Port Angeles head coach Scott Moseley was named Coach of the Year after leading the Roughriders to a Class 2A Olympic League title and a berth in a state tournament.

Port Angeles first team winners included junior midfielder Anna Petty, senior goaltender Saylah Commerton and senior forward Bailee Larson.

Petty has scored eight goals and had five offensive assists this season, but his game in the defensive midfielder has perhaps been even more impressive for the Riders.

Commerton had the program’s second-most shutouts in a season (11) and had the second-lowest goals-against average in school history.

Larson has scored 14 goals, a team-high, and had eight assists, both numbers improved from his sophomore year and shortened his junior seasons.

Sequim’s Taryn Johnson made the first Olympic League 2A team in second year. (Michael Dashiell / Olympic Peninsula Press Group)

The first-team picks for Sequim were senior midfielder Hannah Wagner, the team’s leader in assists, and sophomore forward Taryn Johnson, Wolves top scorer who had three hat tricks and a great hat trick this season.

Senior defenseman Teagan Clark took home second team honors for her work in preparing for the Riders’ defense. Clark also scored five goals and added three assists from the back.

Clark’s senior teammate Catie Brown was also part of the second team after registering eight assists, tied with Larson for the top of the team and scoring four goals. Brown returned this fall from an ACL tear suffered last spring.

Second-year defender / midfielder / striker Izzy Felton was a second-team pick. Felton has scored seven goals and had three assists while playing various positions for Port Angeles.

Sequim second-year defenseman Kaia Lestage was a second-team pick for the Wolves.

She was joined by first-year midfielder Ivy Barret in Sequim’s second team.

All-Nisqually League

PORT TOWNSEND – East Jefferson is well represented on the Nisqually League women’s football team.

Second-year forward Ava Shiflett and second-year midfielder Iris Mattern were the first-team picks in the league coaching vote.

A quick blur, Shiflett led the Rivals in goals with 10 and assists with seven.

Mattern has been described by coach Robert Cantley as the “heart of the team” for his efforts in midfield. Mattern has scored three goals and distributed four assists this fall.

Junior Kaylen Pray was a second-team pick and senior Savannah Hoffman, who volunteered to play for East Jefferson’s goal in his final season, was also on the second team.

Hoffman had five shutouts in goal and scored three goals and one assist in midfield.

Pray scored nine goals, including plenty of clutch variety, and four assists.

Defenseman Izzy McCracken was an Honorable Mention selection for the Rivals.

Klahowya rookie Amira Lyons and Bellevue junior Christian Marieke Wybenga have parted ways with league MVP honors.

Charles Wright’s sophomore Sarah White won the goalie of the year award.

Klahowya junior Victoria Peters was named the league’s offensive player of the year.

Senior Vashon Phoebe Wilke took home the Defensive Player of the Year award.

Klahowya coach Krista Oeschlager was the coach of the year.

Forks players honored

FORKS – Three Spartan soccer players were honored with places in the Southwest District North Division Class 2B All-Star Team.

Forks senior midfielder Candida-Rose Sandoval; Second-year midfielder Keira Johnson and first-year defenseman Miley Blanton have all been selected as second team.

Sandoval was team co-captain for the third consecutive season for the Spartans.

Johnson excelled in her first soccer season, scoring three goals in one game and also playing in Forks’ goal as she won the Spartans Rookie of the Year award.

Blanton was the team’s MVP recipient after stepping up to defenseman and thriving in her new role.

Senior Adna Presley Smith was the General MVP of the North Division.

Senior Napavine Makensee Tauaferro was named Offensive MVP and Senior Adna Madi Stark was named Defensive MVP.

Adna’s Horst Malunat was chosen as coach of the year.

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.