The Chronicle of the Horse


The Equestrian Federation of the United States has announced the recipients of its Lifetime Achievement Award, which will be presented to the American Equestrian Annual Meeting 2022. Kathy Kusner and Howard Simpson are the recipients of the 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award. Sophia Huffman is the 2021 Junior Equestrian of the Year.

Kusner, Simpson and Huffman will be honored at the Pegasus Awards Celebration Dinner on Thursday, January 13.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Kathy Kusner. USET Foundation archive photo

Kathy kusner

Kathy Kusner (Playa Vista, Calif.) Is not only an accomplished show jumping athlete who won medals at the Olympic and Pan American Games for her country, she is also recognized as a true trailblazer who broke down barriers for her country. other women in equestrian sports and has devoted much of her life to horses and riding.

Kusner was one of the first women selected for the United States equestrian team to compete in the Olympics. She represented the United States at the Tokyo Games in 1964, the Mexico Games in 1968 and the Munich Games in 1972, where she was part of the silver medalist team. Riding for the team at the 1963 Pan American Games in São Paulo, Brazil, Kusner won a team gold medal and four years later a team silver medal at the Pan American Games in Winnipeg, Canada.

Kusner is also a famous pioneer in thoroughbred racing; in 1968, she became the first female jockey allowed to compete in the United States. His countless achievements in equestrian competition are matched only by his service outside the competition ring. She is the founder of the nonprofit Horses in the Hood, which works with communities in downtown Los Angeles to introduce young people to horses and their care. A member of the Show Jumping Hall of Fame, Kusner has also conducted numerous clinics and conferences around the world, was a course designer and show jumping commentator, and has published articles for equestrian publications.

usef-82 --- adam-brennan --- wwwpicturesbyabcom_large
Howard Simpson (right). Adam Brennan – Photo

Howard simpson

Howard Simpson (Lake Forest, Illinois) grew up hunting foxes and later served as Foxhound Master for the Mill Creek Hunt (Illinois). Simpson married the late Martha Smith Simpson in 1984, and the following year their family’s Tempel Farms hosted the first American Continental Young Rider Championship. In 1988, the competition became the North American Youth Riding Championships, which evolved into the North American Youth Championships. In 1997, Simpson became the sole organizer of NAYC and provided financial support for the program. He was the director of NAYC for over 20 years and Tempel Farms hosted the championships 13 times between 1985 and 2004.

In addition to his work with NAYC, Simpson has been involved in the selection of venues for important events. In December 1996, Simpson and Captain Mark Phillips investigated potential sites for the first four-star (now five-star) in North America, ultimately recommending the three-day Kentucky event. Simpson also led the review team that recommended the Maryland 5 Star at Fair Hill as the second CCI5 * -L in North America.

Simpson has been active in the governance of equestrian sport over the years. He has served on the Board of Directors and on several USEF committees and councils. He has served on the Board of Governors, was Vice President of Communications, and is currently a member of the Rebecca Broussard International Developing Rider Scholarship Selection Committee for the United States Eventing Association Foundation.

Pegasus Prize

In addition to the above rewards and the Riders of honor, the Pegasus Prize are composed of numerous distinctions for a group of renowned riders.

Ellen Scripps Davis Memorial Breeders Award – Sporting luck farm

Kip Rosenthal Memorial High Score Equitation Award – Zayna Rizvi

Pegasus Medal of Honor – Susan Morey, Dr Timothy Ober, Roxanne Trunnell and Elisabeth Williams

Richard E. McDevitt Award of Merit – Anne Barlow Ramsay, Naomi Blumenthal, Vickey Bowman, Tremaine Cooper, Joanne Crockett, John Franzreb, Grace Greenlee, Lewis Haines, Sue Hershey, Mason Phelps, Richard Taylor, Glena Wirtanen and Jodi Zeier

Sallie Busch Wheeler Trophy – Will be announced at the Pegasus Awards Celebration Dinner

Humanitarian Prize of the USEF / EQUUS Foundation – Octavia Brown

USEF Young Athlete AwardRébecca Share

Walter B. Devereux Sportsmanship Award -Ralph Carristo

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.