Tokyo Olympics medal-winning boxers and world boxing champion Donaire to be celebrated at 2021 PSA Awards


Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, February 27) – Four boxers who achieved jaw-dropping feats last year will also receive major awards at the 2021 San Miguel Corporation-Philippine Sportswriters Association Annual Awards Party on March 14 at the Diamond Hotel in Manila.

Tokyo Olympics silver medalists Carlo Paalam and Nesthy Petecio and bronze medalist Eumir Marcial led the Philippines’ best Olympic performance in history by supporting the feat of weightlifter Hidilyn Diaz, who won the The country’s first-ever Olympic gold medal after 97 years and will also be named as the 2021 PSA Athlete of the Year.

RELATED: PH completes best Olympic campaign in history

The trio also broke the Philippines boxing team’s 25-year medal drought at the Olympics, where Onyok Velasco last won a silver medal at the Games in Atlanta in 1996.

Also being recognized at the 2021 SMC-PSA annual awards night will be reigning World Boxing Council bantamweight champion Nonito Donaire Jr., who defied the odds and age to become the oldest champion in the division world after knocking down Nordine Oubaali in the fourth round in their title fight last May.

Donaire, 39, also defended his crown last December with a fourth-round stoppage of compatriot Reymart Gaballo and won the Premier Boxing Champions Fighter of the Year 2021 award.

Other winners of the annual event hosted by the nation’s oldest media organization are golf champion Yuka Saso and world gymnastics titlist Carlos Yulo, both for the President’s Award, basketball legends Robert Jaworski Sr .and Ramon Fernandez, both for the Lifetime Achievement Award, and the Philippine Olympic Committee. (POC) Bambol Tolentino for Executive of the Year.

The 2021 SMC-PSA Annual Awards Night is supported by the POC, the Philippine Sports Commission and Cignal TV. The event is also presented by the Philippine Basketball Association, MILO, 1 Pacman, Rain or Shine, ICTSI, Chooks To Go, Smart, Philippine Racing Commission and MVP Sports Foundation.

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.