What you need to know about the reigning gold medalists – The Athletic


Want a team from the United States to be behind in Olympic hockey? Then you should consider cheering on women – the reigning gold medalists.

Victory at the 2018 Games was the first time the United States had won gold since 1998, when the women’s team – highlighted by Angela Ruggiero, Cammi Granato and AJ Mleczko – beat Canada. Remember the last time the men won? There was a movie about it – their “Miracle on Ice” in 1980.

Let that sink in for a second.


Forty-two years ago.

They’ve won multiple medals since, winning silver in 2002 in Salt Lake City and 2010 in Vancouver, but fell short in 2014 and 2018. Without NHL players, their road became even more difficult.

So if you want the Olympics to help bring the American hockey community together, this is the team that rightfully has a chance.

If you’re new here or just need a refresher, we’re here to help. Let’s take a look at some keys to the 2022 Olympics for Team USA.

Olympic groups

Team USA is in Group A, along with the powerhouse that is Team Canada. Also in this top group are Finland, Switzerland and the Russian Olympic Committee.

Three scenarios to follow

Another quest for gold

Team USA broke Canada’s four-game gold medal streak at the Pyeongchang Games. Between 1998 and 2018, their rankings oscillated between silver (2002 Salt Lake City, 2010 Vancouver and 2014 Sochi) and bronze (2006 Turin).

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.